Who’s the Fastest Woman in the World? SRAM Sponsors Women’s TT at ATOC 2013

2012 podium from the Women’s Time Trial presented by SRAM. The only rider not returning is the now-retired Kristin Armstrong. Powers and Wilcoxson will do their best to “step up.”

$10,000 prize purse for the third annual Women’s Time Trial p/b SRAM

SRAM has once again lead the support for more women’s cycling as title sponsor of the Tour of California Women’s Time Trial Race, presented by SRAM, to take place in the midst of the Amgen Tour of California (ATOC) men’s race. For the third straight year, Olympians, World Champions, National Champions, as well as some of the best female athletes ever to take to two wheels, will compete in the 19.6 mile (31.5k) time trial.

The ATOC Women’s Time Trial Powered by SRAM will take place on May 17, 2013, in San Jose prior to the start of the Men’s event. Start time is 12:45pm.

The event features a $10,000 prize purse, along with bragging rights to one of the more uniquely popular events on the women’s calendar. 2012 winner Kristin Armstrong ably beat nearly half of the men’s field who raced later the same day, or what riders (Armstrong herself) referred to as “getting chicked.” Armstrong went on to win her second gold medal in London.

Fifteen riders have been selected:
Alison Tetrick (USA) Exergy Twenty16
Mara Abbott (USA) Exergy Twenty16
Kristin McGrath (USA)
Exergy Twenty16
Alison Powers (USA) NOW and Novartis for MS
Robin Farina (USA)
NOW and Novartis for MS
Jade Wilcoxson (USA) Optum Pro Cycling presented by Kelly Benefit Strategies
Brianna Walle (USA)
Optum Pro Cycling presented by Kelly Benefit Strategies
Evelyn Stevens (USA) Specialized-lululemon
Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (GER)
Jasmin Glaesser (CAN) TIBCO
Meredith Miller (USA) TIBCO
Rhae Shaw (CAN)
Katie Compton (USA)
Amber Neben (USA)
Julie Dibens (GBR)

“It’s an honor just to get invited to this event. It offers a great challenge, features a great prize purse, and spotlights women’s racing. Companies like SRAM get it, and actually supports women’s cycling” – Alison Tetrick (Exergy TWENTY16).

“SRAM’s interest stems from so many angles. A good race of truth is always tough, and in this case a fun idea.  The shared TT course format provides a unique gender mix in the midst of the most popular stage race in America. We’re stoked to again join AEG in building such a cool showcase for men & women pros alike.” said Alex Wassmann, SRAM’s Global Sponsorship Manager.

Riders prepare to take the start line – podium finisher Jade Wilcoxsen (Optum Health – black/orange) will look to improve upon her third place.

This entry was posted in Alison Powers, Alison Tetrick, Ally Stacher, Amgen Tour of California, Athletes, Ina-Yoko Teutenberg, Jade Wilcoxson, Julie Dibens, Katie Compton, Katie Compton, Kristin Armstrong, Meredith Miller, Road, Specialized-Lululemon team, SRAM RED, SRAM RED 2012, Women's Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.